Webinaires

Pride At Work Pinwheel logo
Calendrier de la série de webinaires Fierté au travail Canada 2020-2021

Nos webinaires en français pour l’horaire 2020-2021 seront bientôt affichés. Restez à l’écoute!

Tous les webinaires sont exclusifs aux employés de nos partenaires nationaux et régionaux et ont lieu les mercredis de 12 h à 13 h HE. Pour les détails de la description et l’inscription, suivez les liens qui l’accompagnent. Les détails d’accès vous seront envoyés par e-mail plus près de la date à laquelle vous vous êtes inscrit.

Restez à l’écoute pour le programme complet! Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter ci-dessous pour recevoir les mises à jour de nos événements.
AUTOMNE 2020
16
septembre
L’inclusion dans le cadre de l’acquisition de talents (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Amanda Spakowski (pronoms féminins), professionnelle de la diversité et de l’inclusion et de l’acquisition de talents

Description: Les organismes employeurs invoquent souvent des questions mal définies d’approvisionnement pour justifier leur manque de diversité. Mais, dans bien des cas, ce sont plutôt des problèmes liés aux processus d’acquisition de talents, et non un manque de talent chez les personnes LGBTQ2+, qui sont responsables de l’exclusion des personnes queer et transgenres en quête d’emploi de la population active. En ce qui a trait aux processus inclusifs de sélection et d’intégration, des petits changements peuvent dans bien des cas faire une grande différence. Dans ce webinaire, Amanda Spakowski, spécialiste en acquisition de talents, présentera les différentes démarches que peuvent suivre les organismes employeurs afin d’inclure les talents LGBTQ2+ tout au long du processus de sélection et d’intégration et donnera des exemples des maintes petites choses qui, réunies, aident à créer une culture d’appartenance.

14
octobre
Les meilleures pratiques pour les groupes de ressources pour les employés LGBTQ2+ (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Jade Pichette (elle/la), Gestionnaire des programmes, Fierté au travail Canada

Description: Ce sont souvent les membres du personnel les plus motivés à créer des lieux de travail accueillants qui se trouvent à être moteurs de l’inclusion en milieu de travail. Les meilleurs organismes employeurs comprennent que les groupes de ressources pour les employés, les groupes de ressources pour les entreprises, les groupes d’affinité et les comités d’inclusion qui s’appuient sur l’expérience vécue des membres de leur personnel qui appartiennent à des communautés marginalisées contribuent à rendre leurs lieux de travail plus inclusifs. Ce webinaire, présenté par Jade Pichette, responsable des programmes au sein de Fierté au travail Canada, se concentrera sur le cycle de vie, la planification stratégique, la gestion d’événements et les meilleures pratiques au sens large des groupes de ressources pour les employés qui permettent d’en assurer l’efficacité et d’y promouvoir l’inclusion.

18
novembre
L’inclusion des personnes trans en milieu de travail (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Yasmeen Persad (pronoms féminins), coordinatrice de la programmation trans, The 519

Description: Qu’elles soient hors du placard depuis des années ou qu’elles se préparent à entreprendre leur transition dans leur milieu de travail, de nombreuses preuves montrent que les personnes trans ont besoin de plus de soutien pour réussir dans les milieux de travail canadiens. Dans ce webinaire, Yasmeen Persad, éducatrice expérimentée d’identité trans, fournira des recommandations concrètes sur la façon dont l’ensemble des membres du personnel peuvent soutenir leurs collègues trans et militer pour des milieux de travail plus inclusifs aux personnes trans. Citant des cas jugés par la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, Mme Persad expliquera comment les organismes employeurs peuvent non seulement respecter leurs obligations légales, mais aussi aller au-delà des simples accommodements pour s’allier avec les communautés trans.

HIVER 2021
13
janvier
Décoloniser l’inclusion et la diversité (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Sara Wolfe (pronoms féminins ou neutres), directrice de l’initiative d’innovation autochtone au sein de Grands Défis Canada

Description: Au cours de cette présentation, Sara Wolfe discutera des possibilités de décolonisation des approches envers les démarches d’inclusion et de diversité ainsi que des réalités vécues par les personnes autochtones bispirituelles et LGBTQ+ en matière d’emploi et de prestation de services. L’intégration d’interventions décolonisatrices dans les démarches d’inclusion des dimensions de l’expression de genre, de l’identité de genre et de l’orientation sexuelle facilite un changement organisationnel plus efficace. Des exemples concrets seront donnés quant aux façons d’intégrer les perspectives autochtones dans les interventions.

20
janvier
Soutenir les parents d’enfants trans et de la diversité des genres (en français)

Présentation donnée par: Annie Pullen Sansfaçon (elle/la) (PhD Ethics, Social work, DeMontfort University, UK), Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les enfants transgenres et leurs familles – Professeure titulaire Faculté des arts et des sciences – École de travail social – Université de Montréal

Description: Tout le monde a déjà entendu parler de cette idée d’être « allié(e) ». Comment être allié(e) pour mes collègues qui ont un enfant trans, de la diversité des genres ou en questionnement, ou en processus de coming-out? Comment mieux les accompagner et les aider? Comment me corriger lorsque je faire une erreur? Rejoignez-nous pour une présentation qui vous permettra de mieux comprendre les expériences d’oppression et de résistance des jeunes trans et non-binaires et leurs familles et apprendre les meilleures pratiques pour les soutenir.

17
février
Les leçons que le mouvement Black Lives Matter a à offrir à la communauté queer (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Cicely Belle Blain (pronoms neutres), PDG, Cicely Blain Consulting

Description: Dans le cadre de cette session, Cicely Belle Blain, qui a cofondé et été à l’organisation de Black Lives Matter Vancouver, discutera de l’importance de l’intersectionnalité dans la création de mouvements et dans les démarches d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion. Le mouvement Black Lives Matter a depuis longtemps été champion de la libération de toutes les personnes marginalisées et offre des leçons poignantes et puissantes sur la libération intersectionnelle. Penchons-nous sur les façons dont ces outils et ces leçons peuvent s’appliquer dans nos milieux de travail, nos communautés et nos espaces communs.

17
mars
Cartographier le continuum de l’inclusion (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Jefferson Darrell (pronoms masculins), fondateur, Breakfast Culture

Description: La diversité et l’inclusion ne sont pas seulement de bons atouts. Elles représentent des incontournables pour toute organisation désirant atteindre le plus haut niveau en ce qui a trait au recrutement, au rendement et à la rétention afin d’accéder à une croissance viable et durable. L’audit sur la diversité et l’inclusion de BREAKFAST CULTURE est un processus complet de mesure et d’analyse permettant de comprendre où se situe votre organisation et comment la faire progresser dans le « continuum DEI » (diversité, équité et inclusion)*. Il s’agit de l’une des premières étapes menant au développement d’une culture de diversité, d’inclusion et d’équité en milieu de travail. Au cours de cette session, vous en apprendrez davantage sur le continuum DEI* et sur les façons dont Breakfast Culture se sert des outils actuels, notamment les logiciels de pointe d’engagement du personnel pour entreprises (Employee Engagement Enterprise software) et les standards mondiaux en diversité et en inclusion (Global Diversity & Inclusion Benchmarks) pour évaluer où se situe actuellement votre organisation par rapport au continuum DEI*.

Source : The Human Equity Advantage: Beyond Diversity to Talent Optimization, Wilson 2013

PRINTEMPS 2021
24
mars
Refonte d’image et importance des communications pertinentes (en français)

Présentation donnée par: Antoine Beaudoin Gentes (il/lui), Directeur des opérations et du développement, Jeunes Identités Créatives (anciennement Enfants transgenres Canada)

Description: L’importance de développer une image actuelle et claire pour un organisme communautaire ou tout projet en lien avec des enjeux actuels. L’organisme Enfants transgenres Canada se nomme dorénavant Jeunes identités créatives et leur directeur du développement vient nous expliquer la démarche derrière ce changement. La nouvelle identité et ses déclinaisons communiquent et reflètent le sentiment de sécurité, la dignité et l’esprit de communauté, thèmes qui incarnent les valeurs de l’organisme et habitent le quotidien des familles et des jeunes trans et non-binaires. Votre marque ou votre entreprise est-elle vraiment authentique par rapport à vos valeurs fondamentales? Pour donner de la vie à une organisation, il faut constamment travailler à la renforcer et la faire évoluer.

14
avril
Pleins feux sur la mise en œuvre des mesures d’inclusion des personnes trans (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Kai Scott (pronoms masculins), président, et Hélène Frohard-Dourlent (pronoms neutres ou féminins), stratégiste principale, TransFocus Consulting

Description: Vous voulez en apprendre davantage sur les entreprises qui travaillent assidûment pour soutenir une plus grande inclusion de la diversité des genres parmi le personnel et la clientèle ? Peut-être vous demandez-vous : En quoi consiste ce travail ? Que puis-je apprendre des idées de ces entreprises et des découvertes qu’elles ont faites lors de la mise en œuvre de leurs mesures ? Quelles sont les considérations uniques, par exemple, les facteurs culturels et systémiques ainsi que la traduction vers le français ? Joignez-vous à nous pour cette discussion franche et intime entre Bell Canada et TransFocus Consulting afin d’explorer ces questions et bien d’autres. Vous en tirerez une idée plus réaliste de ce qui est en jeu et de ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre en ce qui a trait à la préparation et à l’affirmation du parcours de votre entreprise.

12
mai
Soutenir les parents d’enfants LGBTQ2+ (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Carmel Farahbakhsh (pronoms neutres), direction générale, The Youth Project, et Kym Sweeney (pronoms féminins), avocate interne, Aide juridique de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Description: Le personnel du réseau de partenaires nationaux et régionaux de Fierté au travail Canada est invité à participer à cette conversation guidée portant sur l’art d’être parent d’un enfant LGBTQ2+, le fait d’être parent LGBTQ2+ et la création de milieux de travail plus sûrs, plus novateurs et plus imaginatifs en ce qui a trait au soutien des familles diverses. Carmel Farahbakhsh est à la direction générale du Youth Project, un organisme à but non lucratif de Nouvelle-Écosse qui a pour mission de créer des espaces qui valorisent, célèbrent les jeunes LGBTQ2+ et en prennent soin au niveau provincial. Une famille toute spéciale se joindra à Carmel pour discuter des réalités actuelles et imaginer un avenir lumineux pour les familles LGBTQ2+ au niveau local. Kym Sweeney se joindra à son enfant Elliott pour mener une conversation sur leurs expériences partagées et les contrastes qu’ils constatent en ce qui a trait à l’école, au travail et à la famille/la communauté choisie.

ÉTÉ 2021
12
juillet
Nous avons insisté : les questions juridiques et emploi dans l’histoire LGBTQ2+ (en anglais)

Présentation donnée par: Lucie Handley-Girard (pronoms féminins), archiviste, The ArQuives

Description: La présentation portera sur l’histoire des communautés LGBTQ2+ au Canada, avec un accent particulier sur la discrimination à l’emploi des Canadiens LGBTQ2+ à partir des années 1970. Des fichiers des ArQuives seront utilisés : l’archiviste Lucie Handley-Girard, responsable de la vaste collection des Archives LGBTQ2+ du Canada, mettra en lumière l’histoire des communautés LGBTQ2+. La présentation soulignera des affaires judiciaires spécifiques qui ont changé l’histoire des droits LGBTQ2+ au Canada, ainsi que des cas de discrimination qui ont eu moins d’écho dans les médias nationaux et sur le plan juridique, mais qui mettent néanmoins en évidence les violations des droits de la personne, les crimes haineux et les conséquences de la mise à l’écart des personnes LGBTQ2+ dans les milieux de travail canadiens au fil du temps.

RESTEZ INFORMÉ

Abonnez-vous à notre bulletin pour obtenir les dernières nouvelles

Webinars

Pride At Work Pinwheel logo
Pride at Work Canada 2020-21 Webinar Series Schedule

All webinars are exclusive for employees of our Proud Partners & Community Partners and take place on Wednesdays from 12 pm to 1 pm ET. For description details and registration, follow the accompanying links. Access details will be emailed to you closer to the date for which you registered.

Stay tuned for full schedule! Subscribe to our newsletter below to receive updates to our events.
FALL 2020
September
16
Inclusive Talent Acquisition (English)

Presenter: Amanda Spakowski (she/her), Diversity & Inclusion/Talent Acquisition Professional

Description: Employers often cite elusive “pipeline problems” as an excuse for their lack of diversity. But it’s often issues with talent acquisition processes, not a lack of LGBTQ2+ talent, that keep queer and trans job seekers out of the workforce. When it comes to inclusive selections and onboarding processes, little changes can often make a big difference. In this webinar, Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist Amanda Spakowski will show the many ways employers can be inclusive of LGBTQ2+ talent throughout the selections and onboarding process and will demonstrate all of the little things that, put together, create a culture of belonging.

October
14
Best Practices for LGBTQ2+ Employee Resource Groups (English)

Presenter: Jade Pichette (they/them), Manager of Programs, Pride at Work Canada

Description: Inclusion is often driven by employees on their journey to create workplaces that are welcoming of everyone. The best employers understand that employee resource groups (ERGs), business resource groups (BRGs), affinity groups, and inclusion councils that leverage the lived experience of their employees from marginalized communities make their workplaces more inclusive. This webinar, presented by Pride at Work Canada Manager of Programs Jade Pichette, will focus on the life cycle of employee resource groups, strategic planning, event management, and best overall best practices for effective and inclusive ERGs.

November
18
Trans Inclusion in the Workplace (English)

Presenter: Yasmeen Persad (she/her), Trans Program Coordinator, The 519

Description: Whether they have been out for years or getting ready to transition in the workplace, there’s ample evidence to show that trans workers need more support to succeed in Canadian workplaces. This webinar, presented by experienced trans educator Yasmeen Persad, will provide concrete recommendations on how all workers can support trans colleagues, and advocate for more trans inclusive workplaces. Citing cases ruled on by the Ontario Human Rights Commission, Persad will speak to how employers can not just meet their legal obligations, but go beyond accommodation to acting in allyship with trans communities.

WINTER 2021
January
13
Decolonizing Inclusion & Diversity (English)

Presenter: Sara Wolfe (she/her/they), Director, Indigenous Innovation Initiative at Grand Challenges Canada

Description: During this presentation, Sara Wolfe will discuss the opportunities to decolonize approaches to inclusion and diversity efforts, and the lived realities of Two-Spirit and LGBTQ+ Indigenous people in employment and service delivery. Integrating decolonization approaches into gender expression, gender identity, and sexual orientation inclusion will be more effective in creating organizational change. Concrete examples of how to integrate Indigenous ways of knowing into action.

January
20
Supporting Parents of Trans, Nonbinary, Gender Creative, and Genderfluid Kids (French)

Presenter: Annie Pullen Sansfaçon (she/her) (Ph.D. Ethics, Social work, DeMontfort University, UK), Associate Professor at the University of Montreal‘s School of Social Work

Description: The concept of being an “ally” is now in common parlance. How can I be an ally for my colleagues who have a trans, nonbinary, gender creative, and genderfluid child or who are in the process of coming out? How can we better support and help them? How do I correct myself when I make a mistake? Join us for a presentation that will allow you to better understand the experiences of oppression and resistance of trans, nonbinary, gender creative, and genderfluid youth and their families and learn best practices to support them.

February
17
Queer Teachings from Black Lives Matter (English)

Presenter: Cicely Belle Blain (they/them), CEO, Cicely Blain Consulting

Description: In this session Black Lives Matter Vancouver co-founder and former organizer, Cicely Belle Blain will discuss the importance of intersectionality in movement building and equity, diversity and inclusion work. Black Lives Matter has long been a champion of liberating all marginalized people and offers poignant and powerful teachings on intersectional liberation. Let’s unpack how these tools and teachings can translate into our workplaces, communities and shared spaces.

March
17
Mapping the Inclusion Continuum (English)

Presenter: Jefferson Darrell (he/him), Founder, Breakfast Culture

Description: Diversity & Inclusion is not just a “nice-to-have.” It’s a “must-have” if an organization is to achieve the highest standard of recruitment, performance and retention for viable, sustainable growth. BREAKFAST CULTURE’s Diversity and Inclusion Audit is a comprehensive measurement and analysis process to understand where your organization lies and how to move it along the DEI (Diversity, Equity & Inclusion) Continuum*. This is one of the first steps towards cultivating a diverse, inclusive and equitable workplace culture. In this session you will learn about the DEI Continuum* and how Breakfast Culture uses current tools, including leading edge Employee Engagement Enterprise software and/or Global Diversity & Inclusion Benchmarks (GDIB) to analyze where your organization currently resides on the DEI Continuum*.

*The Human Equity Advantage: Beyond Diversity to Talent Optimization, Wilson 2013

SPRING 2021
March
24
Re-branding & The Importance of Relevant Communications (French)

Presenter: Antoine Beaudoin Gentes (he/him) Chief Operating and Development Officer, Gender Creative Kids Canada

Description: The importance of developing an actual and clear image for a community organization or any project related to current issues. The organization’s French name, formerly “Enfants transgenres Canada,” was henceforth “Jeunes identités créatives” – their Development Director explains the process behind this change. After a collaborative internal reflection process around the objective of finding a name that would better embody the organization’s renewal and its revisited mission: “Jeunes identités créatives” presented itself and organically settled inside the hearts of the teams. Is your brand or business truly authentic to your core values? To give life to an organization, we must constantly work to strengthen and develop it.

April
14
Putting a Focus on Implementing Trans Inclusion (English)

Presenter: Kai Scott (he/him), President, and Hélène Frohard-Dourlent (they/she), Senior Strategist, TransFocus Consulting

Description: Do you want to hear from companies that are doing the in-depth work to support greater inclusion of gender diversity among employees and customers? You may wonder: What’s it like to do this work? What can I learn from these companies’ insights and ‘aha’ moments during implementation? What are the unique considerations, like cultural and systems factors as well as French translation? Join us for this candid and intimate fireside chat between Bell Canada and TransFocus Consulting to delve into these questions and more. You’ll leave having a more realistic idea of what is involved and what to expect to prepare for or affirm your company’s journey.

May
12
Supporting Parents of LGBTQ2+ Kids (English)

Presenters: Carmel Farahbakhsh (they/them), Executive Director, The Youth Project, and Kym Sweeney (she/her), Staff Lawyer, Nova Scotia Legal Aid

Description: Employees of Pride at Work Canada’s National and Regional Partner network are welcome to attend this facilitated conversation about parenting LGBTQ2+ kids, being a LGBTQ2+ parent, and creating safer, innovative, and more imaginative work spaces to support diverse families. Carmel Farahbakhsh is the Executive Director of the Youth Project, a Nova Scotian non-profit organization with the mission to build spaces for LGBTQ2+ youth to feel valued, celebrated, and cared for provincially, will be joined by a very special family to discuss current realities and dream luminous futures for LGBTQ2+ families locally. Kym Sweeney will be joined by her child Elliott in a conversation about their shared experiences and contrasting experiences in navigating school, work, and chosen family/community.

May
19
Demystifying Sexual Diversity and Gender Plurality – Being a Good Ally (French)

Presenter: Henri-June Pilote (they/them), Executive Director, AlterHéros

Description: How can we serve as good allies to our LGBTQ2+ colleagues? Is it appropriate to ask questions, and if so, how and in what context? How can we create more inclusive environments and have a greater impact on inclusion in the workplace? With LGBTQ2+ communities constantly evolving, how can we embrace these changes and stay on top of all these new realities? Join Henri-June Pilote, Executive Director of AlterHéros, as they discuss these issues in this national webinar for Pride at Work Canada partners.

SUMMER 2021
JULY
12
We Demanded: Law, Employment, and LGBTQ2+ History (English)

Presenter: Lucie Handley-Girard (she/her), Archivist, The ArQuives

Description: The presentation will encompass a history of LGBTQ2+ Canada with a focus on Canadian LGBTQ2+ employment discrimination starting in the 1970s. Utilizing pieces of the ArQuives: Canada’s LGBTQ2+ Archives extensive collection archivist Lucie Handley-Girard will bring LGBTQ2+ history to light. The talk will highlight specific court cases that have changed the course of LGBTQ2+ rights in Canada, as well as instances of discrimination that have gotten less national media and legal traction but nevertheless showcase human rights violations, hate crimes, and the consequences of being out and outed in Canadian workplaces over time.

FALL 2021
September
15
Systems Design for LGBTQ2+ Inclusion (English)

Presenter: Tara Robertson (she/her), Tara Robertson Consulting

Description: HR policies and procedures are not the only part of your business that should be seen through the lens of diversity, equity and inclusion. Technology plays a major role in how inclusive an organization is for LGBTQ2+ employees and clients. During this webinar, Tara Robertson will outline best practices when designing systems, products and services to be inclusive of LGBTQ2+ people as well as how to review the current technological processes of your organization.

October
13
Diversifying Emerging Talent Pools (English)

Presenter: Brien K. Convery (he/him), National Director, Early Talent Communities and Inclusive Recruitment, Royal Bank of Canada

Description: Attracting the right talent for every job is a big challenge for employers. In this webinar, Brien K. Convery will speak about proven solutions from his experience as National Director, Early Talent Communities and Inclusive Recruitment, Canada for RBC. He will discuss how to engage LGBTQ2+ communities in recruitment processes and the specific challenges presented by engaging students and emerging talent. Millenials and Gen Z are more likely to work for a company that showcases their efforts to be LGBTQ2+ inclusive. Join Brien to learn how to make sure you are sending the right message.

November
17
Creating Space for Uncomfortable Conversations (English)

Presenter: B Adair (he/him), Founder, Just B Consulting

Description: One of the biggest inclusion challenges for many employers is how to communicate on the subjects gender expression, gender identity, and sexual orientation. Engaging on these topics can result in conversations that are uncomfortable for LGBTQ2+ employees and those working in allyship with them. Join diversity, equity, & inclusion (DEI) professional B Adair (he/him) as he unpacks the importance of strong communication skills when navigating tough conversations, from a workplace DEI perspective.

In this session, case studies will be provided of how to talk to those who know little about LGBTQ2+ communities, as well as how to provide welcoming feedback. You’ll learn why diverse voices matter in the workplace and how to overcome “diversity fatigue”.Most of all, you’ll gain new skills and knowledge about maintaining a calm and open-minded approach to having difficult conversations.

SUBSCRIBE

Subscribe to our newsletter & stay updated